Mathematics

Navigation

E-mail, search functions, and current weather

Main navigation

Secondary navigation

Search www.math.illinois.edu

     

News & events:

Faculty Directory with Research Areas

The mailing address for all members of the Department of Mathematics is:
1409 W. Green Street, Urbana, IL 61801. The telephone area code is 217.

Name Rank Research Office Address Office Phone E-mail
Ahlgren, Scott Professor and Associate Chair Number Theory 273A Altgeld Hall 333-1625 sahlgren@illinois.edu
Albin, Pierre Assistant Professor Geometry 237A Illini Hall 333-6183 palbin@illinois.edu
Alexander, J. Ralph Emeritus Geom. Inequalities, Convexity


Alexander, Stephanie Emeritus Differential Geometry 13 Illini Hall 300-0692 sba@illinois.edu
Allen, Patrick Assistant Professor Number Theory 340 Illini Hall 265-6300 pballen@illinois.edu
Ando, Matthew Professor and Chair Algebraic Topology 273B Altgeld Hall 244-2846 mando@illinois.edu
Babakhanian, Ararat Emeritus Algebraic Geometry

ababakha@illinois.edu
Balogh, Jozsef Professor Graph Theory 233B Illini Hall 244-1918 jobal@illinois.edu
Baryshnikov, Yuliy Professor of Mathematics and Electrical & Computer Engineering Dynamical Systems and Mathematical Physics 302 Altgeld Hall 333-5696 ymb@illinois.edu
Berg, I. David Emeritus Analysis and Geometry 329 Illini Hall 333-8937 idberg@illinois.edu
Bergvelt, Maarten Associate Professor Geometry of Integrable Systems, Vertex Algebras 333 Illini Hall 333-6326 bergv@illinois.edu
Berkson, Earl Emeritus Functional Analysis, Harmonic Analysis, Complex Functional Theory

berkson@illinois.edu
Berndt, Bruce Professor Analytic Number Theory, Classical Analysis 215 Altgeld Hall 333-3970 berndt@illinois.edu
Bishop, Richard Emeritus Differential Geometry 24 Illini Hall
r-bishop@illinois.edu
Boca, Florin Professor Operator Algebras, Number Theory 371 Altgeld Hall 244-9928 fboca@illinois.edu
Bradlow, Steven Professor Geometry/Topology, Algebraic Geometry 322 Illini Hall 333-0384 bradlow@illinois.edu
Braunfeld, Peter Emeritus Mathematics Education 329 Illini Hall 333-8937 pbraunfe@gmail.com
Bronski, Jared Professor Non-Linear PDE, Fluid Dynamics 244 Illini Hall 244-8218 bronski@illinois.edu
Brown, John Emeritus


jocar89@comcast.net
Craggs, Robert Emeritus Topology, Combinatorial Group Theory

craggs@illinois.edu
D'Angelo, John Professor Several Complex Variables, Complex Geometry 355 Altgeld Hall 333-6406 jpda@illinois.edu
Dade, Everett Emeritus Finite Group Representations 24 Illini Hall
ecdade@illinois.edu
DeVille, Lee Associate Professor Applied Math and Differential Equations, Analysis, Probability 344B Illini Hall 333-5601 rdeville@illinois.edu
Dey, Partha Assistant Professor Probability, Mathematical Physics, Interacting Particle Systems 341A Illini Hall 244-9278 psdey@illinois.edu
Di Francesco, Philippe Morris and Gertrude Fine Distinguished Professor of Mathematics Statistical Physics and Combinatorics 223 Illini Hall 300-5736 philippe@illinois.edu
Diamond, Harold Emeritus Number Theory 329 Illini Hall 333-8937 hdiamond@illinois.edu
Dornhoff, Larry Emeritus Computer-Based Mathematics Education

ldornhof@illinois.edu
Dunfield, Nathan Associate Professor Topology and Geometry 378 Altgeld Hall 244-3892 nmd@illinois.edu
Dutta, Sankar Professor Commutative Algebra 331 Altgeld Hall 333-3168 s-dutta@illinois.edu
Duursma, Iwan Professor Algebraic Number Theory, Algebraic Geometry, Cryptography and Coding Theory 303 Altgeld Hall 265-0677 duursma@illinois.edu
Erdogan, M. Burak Professor Harmonic Analysis, PDE 347 Illini Hall
berdogan@math.uiuc.edu
Evans, E. Graham Emeritus Commutative Algebra

graham@math.uiuc.edu
Feng, Runhuan Assistant Professor Actuarial Science, Quantitative Risk Mngmt, Applied Stochastic Processes 367 Altgeld Hall 300-5630 rfeng@illinois.edu
Fernandes, Rui Loja Lois M. Lackner Professor in Mathematics Geometry 346 Illini Hall 300-2431 ruiloja@illinois.edu
Ford, Kevin Professor Number Theory 304 Altgeld Hall 265-6255 ford126@illinois.edu
Fossum, Robert Emeritus Image Formation and Processing, Algebraic Groups

robertfossum@gmail.com
Francis, George Professor Descriptive Topology, Mathematical Visualization 101 Altgeld Hall 418-2035 gfrancis@illinois.edu
Fuchs, Elena Assistant Professor Number Theory and Group Actions 359 Altgeld Hall 244-0469 lenfuchs@illinois.edu
Furedi, Zoltan Emeritus Combinatorics 329 Illini Hall
z-furedi@illinois.edu
Gorvett, Rick Associate Professor; Director, Actuarial Science Program; and State Farm Companies Foundation Scholar in Actuarial Science Actuarial Science, Applied Mathematics 374 Altgeld Hall 244-1739 gorvett@illinois.edu
Gray, John Emeritus Category Theory
244-0117 gray@math.uiuc.edu
Grayson, Daniel Emeritus Higher Algebraic K-Theory, Computer Algebra

drg@illinois.edu
Griffith, Phillip Emeritus Commutative Algebra

pgriffit@illinois.edu
Haboush, William Professor Algebraic groups, their homogeneous spaces and representations 305 Altgeld Hall 333-3976 whaboush@illinois.edu
Haken, Wolfgang Emeritus Geometric Topology

w-haken@illinois.edu
Heins, Maurice Emeritus



Heller, Jeremiah Assistant Professor
362 Altgeld Hall 265-0724 jbheller@illinois.edu
Helms, Lester Emeritus Analysis
244-0117 l-helms@math.uiuc.edu
Henson, C. Ward Emeritus Mathematical Logic

w-henson@illinois.edu
Hieronymi, Philipp Assistant Professor Logic 332 Illini Hall 300-4994 phierony@illinois.edu
Hildebrand, A. J. Emeritus Number Theory 13 Illini Hall 244-7721 ajh@illinois.edu
Hinkkanen, Aimo Professor Complex Analysis, Geometry/Dynamics 345 Illini Hall 244-7306 aimo@illinois.edu
Hirani, Anil Associate Professor Numerical Analysis, Applied Topology 375 Altgeld Hall 333-2727 hirani@illinois.edu
Hur, Vera (Mi Kyoung) Associate Professor PDE 269 Altgeld Hall 244-0142 verahur@illinois.edu
Ivanov, Sergei Professor Group Theory, Topology 373 Altgeld Hall 244-6652 ivanov@illinois.edu
Jacobson, Sheldon Professor of Computer Science (0% Professor of Mathematics)

2232 CS 244-7275 shj@illinois.edu
Janusz, Gerald Emeritus Algebraic Number Theory, Binary Codes, Ring Theory

gjanusz@illinois.edu
Jockusch, Carl Emeritus Mathematical Logic 24 Illini Hall
jockusch@math.uiuc.edu
Junge, Marius Professor Functional Analysis, Banach Spaces, Operator Spaces and C^*-Algebras 363 Altgeld Hall 333-3304 mjunge@illinois.edu
Kamber, Franz Emeritus Foliation Theory 329 Illini Hall 333-8937 f-kamber@illinois.edu
Kapovich, Ilya Professor Group Theory, Low-Dimensional Topology 365 Altgeld Hall 265-0633 kapovich@illinois.edu
Katz, Sheldon Professor Algebraic Geometry, String Theory 301 Altgeld Hall 265-6258 katzs@illinois.edu
Kaufman, Robert Emeritus Analysis 24 Illini Hall 244-0117 rpkaufma@illinois.edu
Kedem, Rinat Professor and Lois M. Lackner Faculty Scholar Mathematical Physics, Representation Theory/Algebra 342 Illini Hall 244-1350 rinat@illinois.edu
Kerman, Ely Associate Professor Symplectic Topology, Hamiltonian Dynamics 326A Illini Hall 265-6710 ekerman@illinois.edu
Kirkpatrick, Kay Assistant Professor Mathematical Physics, Probability, and PDE 231 Illini Hall
kkirkpat@illinois.edu
Kirr, Eduard-Wilhelm Associate Professor PDE, Nonlinear Analysis 245 Illini Hall 265-5418 ekirr@illinois.edu
Kostochka, Alexandr Professor Combinatorics 234A Illini Hall 265-8037 kostochk@illinois.edu
Kutzarova-Ford, Denka Research Associate Professor Functional Analysis, Approximation Theory 337 Illini Hall 265-6756 denka@illinois.edu
LaNave, Gabriele Research Assistant Professor Geometric Analysis 334 Illini Hall
lanave@illinois.edu
Laugesen, Richard Professor and Director of Graduate Studies Analysis, Differential Equations 259 Altgeld Hall 333-1329 laugesen@illinois.edu
Leininger, Christopher Associate Professor Teichmuller Theory and Mapping Class Groups, Hyperbolic Geometry and Geometric Group Theory 366 Altgeld Hall 265-6763 clein@illinois.edu
Lerman, Eugene Professor Geometry and Dynamics 336 Illini Hall 244-9510 lerman@illinois.edu
Li, Shu Assistant Professor Actuarial Science 361 Altgeld Hall 300-2428 shuli@illinois.edu
Li, Xiaochun Associate Professor Harmonic Analysis 235 Illini Hall 244-2642 xcli@illinois.edu
Loeb, Peter Emeritus Potential Theory, Real Analysis, Nonstandard Analysis 329 Illini Hall 333-8664 ploeb@illinois.edu
Luu, Martin Assistant Professor Number Theory 227B Illini Hall 244-9334 mluu@illinois.edu
McCarthy, Randy Professor and Associate Chair for Instructional Technology, Director of NetMath Program, and Director of Undergraduate Studies Algebraic Topology, Algebraic K-Theory 309 Altgeld Hall 333-1108
rmccrthy@illinois.edu
McCulloh, Leon Emeritus Algebraic Number Theory 24 Illini Hall 244-0117 mcculloh@illinois.edu
McLinden, Lynn Emeritus Nonlinear Optimization, Related Analysis
244-0117 mclinden@illinois.edu
Miles, Joseph Emeritus Complex Analysis 10 Illini Hall 300-0661 j-miles3@illinois.edu
Mineyev, Igor Professor Geometric Group Theory 243A Illini Hall 333-8984 mineyev@illinois.edu
Muncaster, Robert Associate Professor Differential Equations, Evolutionary Game Theory 324 Illini Hall 300-1778 muncast@illinois.edu
Nevins, Thomas Associate Professor Algebraic Geometry, Algebra 357 Altgeld Hall 265-6762 nevins@illinois.edu
Nikolaev, Igor Professor Analysis/Geometry, PDE 343 Illini Hall 333-3082 inik@illinois.edu
Oikhberg, Timur Research Associate Professor Fundamental Analysis 330 Illini Hall 300-0352 oikhberg@illinois.edu
Osborn, Howard Emeritus Differential Topology
244-0117 h-osborn@illinois.edu
Palmore, Julian Professor Chaotic Dynamics, Dynamical Systems 377 Altgeld Hall 333-0407 palmore@illinois.edu
Pascaleff, James Assistant Professor Symplectic Geometry 341B Illini Hall 244-7277 jpascale@illinois.edu
Peck, Emily Mann Emeritus


e-peck@illinois.edu
Peressini, Anthony Emeritus Mathematics Education 329 Illini Hall 333-8937 peressin@illinois.edu
Phillips, Clarence Emeritus



Pillay, Anand Emeritus


pillay@illinois.edu
Porta, Horacio Emeritus Analysis

hporta@icloud.com
Portnoy, Esther Emeritus Actuarial Science 24 Illini Hall
eportnoy@illinois.edu
Rao, Ranga Emeritus Lie Groups and Lie Algebras

rao@math.uiuc.edu
Rapti, Zoi Associate Professor Differential Equations, Mathematical Biology 232 Illini Hall 333-6625 zrapti@illinois.edu
Rezk, Charles Professor and Kuo-Tsai Chen Faculty Scholar Algebraic Topology 242 Illini Hall 265-6309 rezk@illinois.edu
Reznick, Bruce Professor Algebra, Number Theory, Analysis and Combinatorics 327 Altgeld Hall 333-4284 reznick@illinois.edu
Robinson, Derek Emeritus Group Theory, Homological Algebra 329 Illini Hall 333-8937 dsrobins@illinois.edu
Rosenblatt, Joseph Emeritus Harmonic Analysis, Ergodic Theory 24 Illini Hall
rosnbltt@illinois.edu
Rothman, Neal Emeritus


neal.rothman@gmail.com
Rotman, Joseph Emeritus Algebra 329 Illini Hall 333-1848 rotman@illinois.edu
Ruan, Zhong-Jin Professor Operator Spaces, Operator Algebras 353 Altgeld Hall 244-6305 z-ruan@illinois.edu
Schenck, Hal Professor Commutative Algebra, Algebraic Geometry, 327 Illini Hall 333-2229 schenck@illinois.edu
Schupp, Paul Emeritus Geometric Group Theory, Theory of Computability, Automata Theory 109 Altgeld Hall 265-7147 schupp@illinois.edu
Sherbert, Donald Emeritus Real Analysis

dsherber@illinois.edu
Solecki, Slawomir Professor and Kenneth I. Appel Faculty Scholar Logic 306 Altgeld Hall 265-0976 ssolecki@illinois.edu
Song, Renming Professor Stochastic Analysis, Potential Theory, Markov Processes 338 Illini Hall 244-6604 rsong@illinois.edu
Sowers, Richard Professor Probability 377 Altgeld Hall 333-6246 r-sowers@illinois.edu
Stojanoska, Vesna Assistant Professor Algebraic Topology, Homotopy Theory 323 Illini Hall 265-0883 vesna@illinois.edu
Stolarsky, Kenneth Emeritus Number Theory, Analysis, Geometry 10 Illini Hall 300-0661 stolarsk@illinois.edu
Takeuti, Gaisi Emeritus Mathematical Logic

takeuti@illinois.edu
Tolman, Susan Professor Symplectic Geometry 344A Illini Hall 333-1856 tolman@illinois.edu
Tondeur, Philippe Emeritus Geometry/Topology, Foliation Theory

tondeur@illinois.edu
Tserunyan, Anush Assistant Professor Descriptive Set Theory 369 Altgeld Hall 300-7009 anush@illinois.edu
Tumanov, Alexander Professor Complex Analysis and Geometry 233A Illini Hall 244-4226 tumanov@illinois.edu
Tyson, Jeremy Professor and Director of Illinois Geometry Lab Conformal and Geometric Function Theory, Sub-Riemannian Geometry 329 Altgeld Hall 244-4132 tyson@illinois.edu
Tzirakis, Nikolaos Associate Professor Dispersive PDE, Harmonic Analysis, Analysis 227A Illini Hall 244-8233 tzirakis@illinois.edu
Ullom, Stephen Emeritus Algebraic Number Theory 329 Illini Hall 333-8937 ullom@illinois.edu
van den Dries, Lou Professor Mathematical Logic, Algebra 308 Altgeld Hall 244-7303 vddries@illinois.edu
Varodayan, David Research Assistant Professor
231 Illini Hall 300-6548 dpv@illinois.edu
Walter, John Emeritus Group Theory
244-0117 jhwalter@illinois.edu
Warnow, Tandy Founder Professor of Engineering, Departments of Computer Science and Bioengineering (0% Professor of Mathematics)
CS 300-3087 warnow@illinois.edu
Weichsel, Paul Emeritus Algebraic Graph Theory, Finite Group Theory 329 Illini Hall 333-8937 weichsel@math.uiuc.edu
Weinberg, Elliot Emeritus Ordered Algebraic Structures
244-0117 ecw@illinois.edu
West, Douglas Emeritus Combinatorics and Graph Theory, Discrete Algorithms 226A Illini Hall 333-1863 dwest@illinois.edu
Wetzel, John Emeritus Combinatorial Geometry

j-wetzel@illinois.edu
Wu, Jang-Mei Professor Geometric and Complex Analysis 236 Illini Hall 244-7297 jmwu@illinois.edu
Yong, Alexander Associate Professor Algebra, Combinatorics 335 Illini Hall 244-5120 ayong@illinois.edu
Zaharescu, Alexandru Professor Number Theory 449 Altgeld Hall 265-5439 zaharesc@illinois.edu
Zaring, Wilson Emeritus


zaring@illinois.edu
Zharnitsky, Vadim Professor Applied Mathematics, Analysis 310 Altgeld Hall 244-5032 vzh@illinois.edu